OpenSourceDPS909

Forking & Installing VSCode Project

For my open source project, we will be contributing to Vscode. I forked the project in my GitHub and installed the project from source. Some of my classmates did have some issues installing in Windows, however, the installation process went quite smoothly on my Linux system.

It’s very interesting to know that vscode is using electron to simulate a desktop app that is compatible with any other system. Electron is a framework for creating native applications using Javascript, HTML, and CSS. I have integrated Electron with one of my old small project built in Elixir, and I was very satisfied with the result.

I have been using vscode as my main editor for building Haskell projects using an extension called “Haskero” and I am very impressed with the results I would suggest anyone give it try!

 

Leave a comment